Conference on Access to Information: Latin America and the Caribbean (CAI:LAC) September 2021

EspañolPortuguês


When? Every Tuesday and Thursday during the entire month of September 2021.

  • Thursday, September 2, 2021: Access to Women’s Rights (Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay) at 4pm (EST, Asuncion), 5pm (Buenos Aires, Montevideo), Spanish and English. Video recording here.
  • Tuesday, September 7, 2021: Access to Education (Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic and Cuba) at 4pm (EST, San Juan, Santo Domingo, Havana), Spanish and English. Video recording here.
  • Thursday, September 9, 2021: Access to Information on Elections (Chile, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador) at 4pm (EST, La Paz), 3pm (Lima, Quito), 5pm (Santiago), Spanish and English. Video recording here.
  • Tuesday, September 14, 2021: Access to Information on/for Venezuelan Refugees at 4pm (EST, Caracas, Port of Spain), 3pm (Lima, Bogota), Spanish and English. Register here.
  • Thursday, September 16, 2021: Access to Health Rights and Information (CARICOM + OECS) at 4pm (EST), 3pm (Kingston), English only. Register here.
  • Tuesday, September 21, 2021: Accessing Brazilian Legislative and Judicial Information at 4pm (EST), 5pm (Brasilia, São Paulo), Portuguese and English. Register here.
  • Thursday, September 23, 2021: Access to Information in Central America at 4pm (EST), 3pm (Panama City, Mexico City), 2pm (Guatemala, San Jose), Spanish and English. Register here.
  • Tuesday, September 28, 2021: Indigenous Peoples’ Access to Information in Mexico at 4pm (EST), 3pm (Mexico City), Spanish and English. Register here.

After more than a year, the reality is that COVID-19 is still ravaging Latin America and the Caribbean. The consequences and impact of the pandemic continues to create a domino effect affecting all groups and all areas in the region. Since March 2020, our project members have been monitoring the changes and responses to the crises. The Conference on Access to Information: Latin America and the Caribbean (CAI:LAC) aims to bring all our conversations together and expand our network in the hope of collaborating even further.

We will host eight webinars during the entire month of September 2021. Each webinar will last for an hour and a half or 90 minutes. The first hour will consist of a conversation with speakers and experts. All attendees are encouraged to actively participate in the rest of the webinar with questions, comments and inputs. Most webinars will have simultaneous interpretation in Spanish and one in Portuguese.

This program is made possible by a grant from the AALL/Bloomberg Law Continuing Education Grant Program.

We would also like to thank the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law, the Daniel F. Cracchiolo Law Library and the College of Social & Behavioral Sciences Latin American Studies for their support in making this program possible.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: